The satisfactions of blocking

_dsc0290

Theres something incredibly satisfying about blocking out a shawl. Especially one that you’ve had all smushed up on your needles for goodness knows how long.

_dsc0291

By the time you get it cast off and you’ve posted a celebratory picture on Instagram, you become very aware of how big it actually is! You might not have known how big it was… or how much bigger it could get.

_dsc0295

This was the case with my Buccaneer shawl, haha. I didn’t realize how massively huge it is… until I cast it off. But then when I blocked it, it grew. Of course, I realize thats what happens when you block shawls, thats the point. But it grew SO MUCH. That being said, I also enjoy stretching shawls so the lace opens up completely and I know I’m guaranteed a blanket, haha.

Thanks to the wonders of Madelinetosh Merino Light, it now drapes so beautifully and is so deliciously soft.

_dsc0294

But thats okay, I love massive shawls. I’m currently all wrapped up in it, with my cup of coffee next to me enjoying the beginnings of our Texas fall weather. I just put a new wall plug scent in, so the living room smells like cinnamon and an apple orchard. Things are good.

_dsc0293

And I have Pokemon socks, which you can never go wrong with those, haha.

Actual FO pictures are coming soon!

One thought on “The satisfactions of blocking

Leave a Reply

