Spinning and Knitting Goodness

_DSC0086

Happy spring break! Long time no see, huh? Yes, I realize my last post was more than a month ago, where I said I hoped I would be able to write more. Ha, that was super successful, wasn’t it.

In addition to not having a super amount of time to work on stuff, I also didn’t have my photo editing program on my computer. So, that made editing a pain and not very convenient at all, haha. But! I just downloaded it on my new computer, so I am set to go d^_^b

So, here I am… WITH PICTURES… (!!) to talk about that awesome thing called knitting. And spinning, that too.

_DSC0090

while at school, my spinning time is even less than my knitting time. Haha, probably because its not like I can pack up my wheel and carry it with me around campus. Needless to say, that’s what I’ve been doing mainly since getting home on Friday.

I first spun up some random braid I grabbed off my wall of yarny goodness. But this is something I’ve been saving since I got it… because its super special, and I have a fun idea for what I want to make with it when its done!

This is 8oz of “Baby, its cold outside” by Daybreak Dyeworks. I originally got this to be on the Daybreak Dyeworks Ravellenic Games team… buuuut, that didn’t really happen. School happened, haha.

Anyways! I’m spinning it now and loving every second of it. I’ve never gotten 8oz of any fiber before, so this is definitely a bigger project for me. It’ll be a fractal spun, 2-ply (haha… no surprise d^_^b) and I’m interested to see how much yardage I can get out of it. Usually when I spin this particular weight (or try to anyway, haha!) I usually get around 500ish out of 4oz.

Ultimately, I’d like to make the Quaker Yarn Stretcher by Susan Ashcroft with as much of my yarn as possible. True, the pattern is written for a worsted, but I can fiddle around with the gauge d^_^b

_DSC0092

I also finally cast this on. And you’re probably wondering, what in the world is this and why I use the word “finally”, haha. Things get so behind when theres no blogging happening, haha!

So, I got this yarn (Quince and Co Ospery) for my birthday! (Which was on Feb 15th. Hello, 21!) and I was going to cast it on then and it was going to be great. That didn’t happen, haha. If it did, I’m sure I’d be done with the sweater by now, haha.

I’ll be making Louise by Carrie Bostick Hoge and I am super excited about it, haha! So, the colors I’m going with is the coral for the bottom ribbing, neck band, and button bands. The grey for the main color of the body and sleeves. Then the navy (which is kind of hard to tell… its a beautiful navy!) for the cuffs. Still undecided on the buttons… but I have plenty of time for that d^_^b

What else am I excited about?

_DSC0100

These little stitch markers! And the adorable tin that they came in. They came from Slipped Stitch Studios and their Harry Potter club of the month deal. I don’t know if they have any left, I couldn’t find any on their website… But they always have super adorable stitch markers, bags, notions, all the things. Definitely check them out!

Also, if you’re in need of a super good book, I have a recommendation!

_DSC0101

Trains and Lovers by Alexander McCall Smith!

I’ve only read two books of Mr. McCall Smith’s (44 Scotland Street and Trains and Lovers) and I’m a huge fan.

If you enjoy people watching, you’ll love his books. What I like about the way he writes (or one of the many things, haha!) is that in addition to his own description of things (people, places, events, etc) he includes what characters think of the same things… but not really simple stuff, its more realistic opinions.

I got this book on… Monday and finished it on Tuesday. It was super super good. Also, don’t be discouraged by the Goodreads reviews about some of his books. If its an action/exciting story you’re looking for, this probably isn’t it. But if you want to enjoy the plodding along lives of multiple characters and their ins and outs… this is perfect. d^_^b

Also…

_DSC0088

Definitely loving all the cat time I’m getting. Definitely going to miss him when I head back on Saturday :-/

10 thoughts on “Spinning and Knitting Goodness

    • Grace says:

      Haha! He’s got the whole adorable thing down pat and knows how to flaunt it ;-) Thank you so much! I can’t wait to start with the other colors

  1. sallock says:

    How exciting! I’d love to be spinning my own yarn someday! And those stitchmarker are to die for! Your cat too by the way!

  2. Kirsten says:

    Happy Belated bday! You share the same bday as my dad, and mine is the 17th!
    Good luck with school, are you almost finished?

Leave a Reply

