Tour de Fleece – Day 1 and Day 2

_DSC1415

The Tour de Fleece is one of my favorite times of the year.. Spinning is SO MUCH FUN!

So, as a result of Day 1 and Day 2, I was able to finish this skein of A Pineapple Under the Sea by Daybreak Dyeworks (She has a colorway I haven’t seen in her store before called Imaginary Delight… its calling my name… its so gorgeous!)

I got 370yds of a sport weight. Fractal spun… Don’t think I’m going back. Its definitely definitely my favorite way to spin things now.

_DSC1412

The yarn got definite Bertie approval….

_DSC1410

He came and nested on it… then I had to intervene because he started chewing and biting it. Which he wasn’t too happy about, haha!

My mom picked out this fiber, so she’ll be picking a pattern at some point. I’m so happy with how it turned out! I’m glad I did all that training before the Tour started so now its not as much figuring things out and experimenting as much as it is enjoying seeing the results of lots of practice. And then getting the reward of some fun yarn in the end d^_^b

But this is amazing fiber, it’s so nicely prepped… its a dream to spin!

_DSC1417

So whats up next on my wheel? Well, as soon as I finish this post, I plan to go and start my Into the Whorl in the Lavinia colorway.. with the Knitabulls SAL

_DSC1418

I got it all divided last night, so I’m ready to today ^_^ I want to spin this a bit thicker and maybe make a pair of mittens… I’ve never made mittens, and I’d kinda like to have a pair. I hate having cold hands… especially while walking across campus ;-P

5 thoughts on “Tour de Fleece – Day 1 and Day 2

  1. Suzy says:

    I can’t say that I blame Bertie for noming on such delicious looking yarn! I wish TdF wasn’t starting in the midst of such a jumble in my world so I could be playing more, too!

  2. caityrosey says:

    I just learned about fractal spinning at Black Sheep Gathering. It was a big eye opener for me about the possibilities to be had from space dyed fibers.

Leave a Reply

