Finished Yarn: Fruit Salad!

_DSC1371

Oooooh, I finished my Fruit Salad!

So, yesterday’s post, I hadn’t spun up the last two little balls of fiber and I hadn’t even begun to ply yet. Well, I got that all done yesterday evening. Though, I spun for about 4+ hours. It felt so good (I was kind of stiff when I got up though, haha, despite the breaks I took) and when I knew I was going to finish the yarn that night, it was more motivation to power through it ^_^

_DSC1375

Its 338yds of about a fingering/light sport weight of superwash merino. The fiber came from Northbound Knitting… a long time ago, haha!

_DSC1368

I’m so glad I waited to spin this braid up though… Though navajo-plying would have been amazing with these colors, I absolutely adore how the the affects of the 2-ply is really setting off the individual colors and letting them shine. When I got the braid, I was just learning how to navajo-ply, I think. So… I’m ver ver glad I waited.

When I niddy-noddied it up, it was really really over spun (still working on that perfect balance, haha!) but I threw it in its bath right away, let it soak for about 30 minutes then hung it up to dry overnight with a hanger on the bottom to weight it down. Its still a bit damp now, but I couldn’t wait to show you guys. I couldn’t resist!

I’m still leaning towards those Easy Handspun Mitts by Vera Brosgol . I really want the yarn to speak for itself, because I know it can, haha! Something simple, most definitely.

_DSC1369

Thank you so much for all your helpful tips for spinning a 2-ply… all your advice was so extremely helpful! Figuring something out but reading an article is one thing, but getting tips from someone who has a lot of personal experience is another d^_^b

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to put something new on my wheel ^_^

3 thoughts on “Finished Yarn: Fruit Salad!

  1. melissa says:

    this turned out amazingly. I have to say, the whole orange/red/pink combo is one of my favorites for handspun. my first handspun turned out something like that (although not nearly as nice as this, and not nearly as much of it since I don’t have a wheel) and I made such a lovely stripey hat with it.

    I think you made the right call going with the 2-ply over the n-ply for this one.

Leave a Reply

