Texas A&M News and Everlong

I have to get one thing out of the way before I continue on with this post.

This is quite big. And I’m so excited about it.

I officially got accepted into Texas A&M University. I’m kinda bouncing off the walls.

This might be a bit confusing, you might have thought I was already *in* A&M, because I’m going there in the fall… we have a place to live. Its all kind of set in stone. But actually, I hadn’t really been accepted yet. I was going either way… because if I didn’t, I would be going to the community college, Blinn, which is right next door to the A&M campus.

So why was it in question? Why the uncertainty? Because I’m going to be a transfer student, and all the grades they needed for that, I didn’t have.. quite yet. They needed my 2013 Spring semester grades, which I was working on.. but didn’t have.

We talked with lots of advisors, made sure we could do everything possible. Worked really hard to get good enough grades. Got my grades (which were above what I needed, that was a huge blessing) at the end of this semester, sent them in lickty-split… and all we could do then was wait. It was in God’s hands. If He wanted me to start my journey of being an Aggie this fall, He would make it happen.

We waited, and waited… it was only a *bit* suspenseful. (/sarcasm)

Then, this morning. I found out the good news. I had been officially accepted. I screamed, ran to the stairs… almost fell down the stairs and decided that I’d be better off standing at the top until I was done kind of and shaking and making every possible sound that expresses joy and happiness. Then I ran downstairs to give my mom a hug, haha.

It hasn’t really sunk in – its kind of like having a birthday. You don’t really like actually realize you’re older until later. I don’t really understand or realize that “Oh hey, I’m a fightin’ Texas Aggie, class of 2016 now. Waaaat?” Yeah, no that hasn’t sunk in yet.

SO. Now I can really REALLY embrace knitting ALL the A&M things with gusto. Ohhh boy.

Which leads nicely into a test knit I’m doing for Lisa of Northbound Knitting (so sweet, she has amazing patterns, yarn, *and* fiber – CHECK HER OUT!!) (sidenote: her yarn and fiber come on te updates, which you have to be watching for. So worth it – I absolutely love the stuff I’ve gotten from her!)

_DSC1328

These are called Everlong, and they are… a pair of very long legwarmers, haha. They are awesomeness. And, if you didn’t notice… they’re in A&M colors ^_^

When I saw the picture on Instagram, I immediately though “OH… OH OH… Maroon.. and white. and OH MY GOODNESS.” So, I actually ordered Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in the right colors, because I absolutely *had* to do those colors.. how could I not? (Just as a btw, the maroon color is “Hollyberry”, which is the perfect maroon. Oh yeah. Then its White and Marble Heather for the grey)

I knit the cuff while walking around Ikea with my parents and aunt and uncle looking for various college-y items ^_^ Then knit the whole leg the next day while we went to College Station to get our flats/apartments/townhousethings inspected. And tada! All done!

Working on the second one at the moment – its total mindless knitting. Just knitting around and around.. but with the stripes and occasional decreases, its not boring. They’re super warm and snuggly. I can totally see these with a skirt or, if its really cold, underneath a pair of jeans or something. They’re so snuggly ^_^

I’d also love to make a pair out of like handspun or out of Harry Potter house cup colors. Which I’d probably go with either Ravenclaw or Gryffindor colors. But who knows what’ll happen ^_^

6 thoughts on “Texas A&M News and Everlong

  1. Amy says:

    I am so happy you got accepted into A&M! You are going to have so much fun — enjoy every single moment :) College was the best 4 years of my life and I would love to go back.

  2. cblatt says:

    Gig ’em! My husband and I are class of ’90 and we have twin sons headed there this fall as freshmen. You are going to love being an Aggie. Congratulations! Are you on ravelry? I am trying to find more A&M ideas for knitting. I also have a daughter who hopes to go to A&M in the fall of 2014.

    • Grace says:

      Howdy! That’s so awesome! What will your sons be majoring in? My younger brother, who’s coming along too, will be a freshman this year as well. I am! My username is littleminky93 :-) Hahaha! Its definitely one of those things thats worthy of more college knitwear d^_^b I have a couple things saved that are specifically for A&M, I think.

Leave a Reply

