Tour de Fleece 2013 Plans

Its that time of year again! Its time for the Tour de Fleece! d^_^b

The dates this year are June 29st, 2013 through July 21st, 2013. Plenty of time to spin spin spin!

So, in preparation for this almost-month-long-event-of-awesomeness, I’ve joined 3 different teams and started thinking about goals and what I’ll be spinning.

Team wise, I have joined (if you click on the images, it sends you to sign up for the teams ^_^)

~ Team Loop ~

button

~ Team Daybreak Dyeworks ~ (Dawn is SO sweet! You really need to check out her shop – her colors are absolutely gorgeous!)

27avie-001_large

~ Team Must Stash ~

tdf-badge-blank1

I am so excited about Tour de Fleece this year… Its been about a year and a half since I got my wheel, and my spinning skills have definitely increased… making it even more fun and enjoyable to participate ^_^

So, out of the many many ideas that I have of what I want to spin, here are two that are recent fiber acquisitions

_DSC1292

I joined the Two if By Hand fiber Willy Wonka fibre club… and this was the first shipment. This is called “Bean Feast” after the request made by Veruca Salt in the Golden Goose Room (which I love and adore that movie. Best version of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory EVER. But thats personal preference, heehee :-P)

And! I also got the fiber from the SAL with the Knitabulls Podcast

_DSC1304

This was inspired by this picture of Lavinia Swire from Downton Abbey

I think the colors are absolutely gorgeous… I’m not quite sure what I’m going to be doing with it yet. Probably Navajo ply, since thats what I’m most comfortable with. But I’m trying to branch out and get better that doing 2-plies.

Any tips on doing a 2-ply? The ones I’ve done in the past end up being over-twisted a fair amount because I’m worried the plies will come apart and not be twisted enough. Then I overcompensate, haha. Any advice will be appreciated v^_^v

What are your plans for Tdf 2013? What teams have you joined? I’m uber excited, I can’t wait for it to start!! ^_^

6 thoughts on “Tour de Fleece 2013 Plans

  1. Amy says:

    I might join Team Must Stash :) I have no clue what I’m doing…but might give me the motivation to actually LEARN. Plus I really want to learn to use my pretty dogwood drop spindle.

  2. introvertedknitter says:

    This will be my first time participating in the Tour, and I am excited. I love the Downton inspired fiber, they captured her so well. Depending on what you are looking for you could consider a fractal spin for that fiber, it will produce a different look to be sure, but I recently did one and love the way it turned out. In terms of producing a good 2 ply I found myself over spinning with the singles the first few times, eventually though I hit a pretty good rhythm (after slowing myself down in terms of treadling.) When you are spinning a single you can let a bit of it ply back on itself before winding on to the bobbin, to give yourself an idea of what your 2 ply will look like, and I found that helps me in terms of not over or under spinning. Hope that helps and I can’t wait to see your progress all that amazing fiber.

    • Grace says:

      Thanks so much for the tips! This is really helpful! I think thats one of my problems – not over-spinning my singles, then it all kinda comes apart when I ply it.

Leave a Reply

