Handknit Socks

So, I recently got a pair of Sperry’s boater shoes. They are quite thebomb. com.

Besides being really adorable and comfy, they also look really amazing and work really well with hand knit socks. ^_^

_DSC0828

I made these a year ago, in May. The yarn is from Ladybug Fiber (who I highly recommend, those yarns are absolutely amazing!) I love these colors, it reminds me of Doctor Who ^_^

This has inspired me to work on my sock abilities. Maybe expand to an actual pattern sock for once. See what its like.. and if it doesn’t suit, I’m totally okay with knitting plain vanilla socks. That’s what stripes are for ^_^

Do you have a simple sock pattern that you always go to? I’m thinking about Hermione’s Everyday Socks. I’ve had those in my queue, despite the fact I knew I probably wouldn’t make them. Its the thought that counts ^_^ But now, it’ll probably happen! I really want it to happen, anyway, haha!

One of the problems that I’ve found when I look at the patterns for these kinds of socks is that the size is always way too big for my foot. If theres one knitting pet peeve, it’s baggy socks, haha! I like mine to be tight and won’t slip around.

So, that’s always kind of detered me, because I knew the patterns were written for bigger feet. Though this doesn’t let me completely off the hook; I could have figured out the math, haha. But me and math have never been amazing friends, if you know what I mean ;-P

One of my high and lofty goals is to knit a pair of socks (vanilla or patterned, either one) out of handspun. That’s definitely not now, but in the future that’s what I hope to and plan on doing ^_^

In other news, I did finish the first sleeve of my Audrey in Unst cardigan, and knit the entire sleeve cap last night. It was a surprise, haha! I got a ton of homework done in the afternoon, took an amazing nap, then was ready to conqure the evening. it was quite a success, haha!

I did get pictures, but when I went to edit them my computer was like “Noooo, you can’t do that. No.” and I was like “…wat”. Which is major sad. So, I’ll be working on that trying to figure out whats wrong… this hasn’t happened before. But until then, I might have to use my Instagram pictures, thowwie thowwie. But Instagram pictures are better than no pictures, right? I shall preval, my computer’s reluctance shall be figured out ^_^

I’m also heading to Dallas this weekend for my sister’s wedding shower that my sister-in-law and I are hosting. It’ll be awesomeeee! I was in charge of making the gift bags, and they turned out so well. I made pompoms to go on with the tags. I’m uber happy with them ^_^ picture definitely will be posted.

Lots of knitting time, though. We leave from school tomorrow, fun stuff! So, I have to have everything ready to go on Thursday night, ready to just throw in the car.

I’m usually okay with packing, doesn’t worry me.. but what does worry me?

What if I don’t bring enough knitting? *shudders at the thought*

Good thing I know there’s an awesome yarn store (or several, haha!) near my sister ^_^

2 thoughts on “Handknit Socks

  1. amy says:

    What pattern do you wind up using for your vanilla socks? I have some self striping that I want to make a pair for myself with.

    Check out the socktopus book from the book store or library next time you’re there. Most of them seem to be knit for normal sized feet (I wear a size 7.5) with notes on how to make them smaller :) And the patterns are really cute.

  2. introvertedknitter says:

    I have the same problem with sock patterns, (size 5.5 US women’s here) so all of my socks for me have been plain vanilla. I have heard the socktopus book is a good one to look into. I think you should try the math on patterns you like, socks are quick enough (relatively speaking) that you should be able to tell if you had a slight mess up, fairly early into the pattern. Do you usually knit toe-up or cuff down? Anyway I hope you have a great time at the wedding shower, can’t wait to see photos of the gift bags.

Leave a Reply

