What a week at Lone Star…

_DSC0840

It’s been a crazy week. If you’ve seen any kind of news anywhere, you’ll know that there was a stabbing at Lone Star, Cy-Fair college on Tuesday. That’s where I go to school, actually. It was a really intense day. There were so many factors that God put in my brother’s, my mom’s, and my way that protected us from being in the mix of all the insanity.

My accounting teacher wasn’t feeling well on Tuesday, so she let us go an hour early. If she hadn’t, we would have been walking across the hallway to our lab – right around the same time the guy was running through our building, attacking. Then we were able to leave the campus right before the lockdown. As we were driving away, we saw the guy being patted down by the police. That’s definitely an image I won’t forget.

Going back to school on Wednesday was really creepy and hard. It was cloudy, which didn’t help, haha. Everyone was on edge and really wary of everyone else. Lots of shifty eyes.

This kind of feeling, I had no idea what it would be like. I mean, you hear about these kind of tragedies all the time, and it’s so horribly sad that we live in a world where this happens on a regular basis. But, I didn’t know how terrifying it actually was. Hearing about something is one thing… actually experiencing it is another.

So, that kind of engulfed my whole week. Ever since Tuesday, there’s been this morbid and gloomy haze over the campus. I’m always really glad to get home. God was so merciful to protect my mom, my brother, and myself. There are still so many people who were even more affected than I was – I can’t even imagine. Please pray for those who are healing from their wounds, and for peace and comfort for everyone else. God has His plan, and He will use these circumstances for good things. “God can restore what is broken and change it into something amazing. All you need is faith” ~ Joel 2:25

Sorry for the speech, but that kind of stuff needs to be talked about :-)

Knitting wise!

I pulled out my Audrey in Unst again… It was nice to have knitting to come home to and be able to just kinda go into zen mode.

_DSC0815

I’m *this* close to being done with it. If I just dedicate maybe a week… a week and a half, I’ll get it done. I’m so close!

_DSC0814

I love the combination of my yarn and the pattern. I’m glad I saved this yarn for that special sweater. I got this yarn at Patricia Roberts in London. I love the green… besides my Acer Cardigan, I don’t have any other green sweaters. I think that the Audrey will be a really nice staple piece that I’ll be able to pull on over shorts or jeans to a little sun dress.

_DSC0816

I cannot wait to finish this so I can wear it, and love it to bits ^_^ Any ideas for buttons? I’m thinking either wood or black…

It’s been a weird week, I’m glad its over. Its been kind of up and down, good moments and really really bad moments. But I’m ready to rest over the weekend, and greet next week with a smile of determination on my face. Only 3 more weeks. Only 3 more weeks.

One thought on “What a week at Lone Star…

  1. Amy says:

    It makes me so sad that you had to go through something like this. God certainly works in mysterious ways, and I am so grateful that He spared you and your family from being in harm’s way. My prayers go out to those students and their families who were impacted by this guy’s madness.

    Great progress on your sweater! I love that shade of green. And love the smocking detailed by the yoke.

Leave a Reply

