Begin – zombie vixen mitts

_DSC0407

Because I have lots of classes, I cast on something – I deserve a reward, people. Even though I have lots of other stuff going. I did it because I could.

Fellow knitterly-blogger, Amy of Knit, Purl…wait, what?, posted a picture of some fingerless gloves she was making on Instagram, and I was absolutely smitten. I had to make a pair.

So I picked up a skein of Cascade sock yarn at Yarntopia while I was at work, and cast on ^_^ How could I resist the purple? It was calling my name!

It’s the “zombie viXen” by Susan Claudino (free pattern on ravelry, woot woot!)

Lots of little cables, such an interesting knit. I’m trying to justify that I did cast these on, with the fact that I’m learning a new skill – cabling without a cable needle.

This is turning out to be more unsettling than I was expecting. With the little stitches and needles, when the stitches have to kinda just sit there and be moved… I get nervous. But! No big mistakes yet, I’m determined to master this skill.

_DSC0408

Bertie is obviously a huge fan. Obviously.

4 thoughts on “Begin – zombie vixen mitts

  1. amy says:

    YAY! So happy you decided to cast these on and I absolutely approve of the purple! I’ve been eyeing the cable without a cable needle technique for a little while….and you’re super brave to try them for this project! Isn’t it super addictive though??? Love love love this pattern <3 <3 <3

    • Grace says:

      haha, thanks! I saw the purple at work, and I knew right then that I had to use it, haha! It’s scaryyy! I don’t know if I’ll stick with it.. maybe.. maybe… We’ll see :-P Yes, ver ver addictive! A really fun knit!

      • Amy says:

        I would be afraid of dropping stitches left and right and then having that moment of panic where I decide if I want to a) try to rescue the stitch or b) frog it.

Leave a Reply

