Spinning Successes

my total is now 6 squares for the Mitered Cross blanket

This is the most recent addition… it has not yet had the ends woven in. Right after I finish a square, before I start the next one, I always weave in all the ends. Haha, I’ve heard enough horror stories about the terrifying amount of ends when it’s all complete… so I’m hoping avoiding that will preserve a little bit of my sanity, haha.

Here are my most recent spinning endeavors, haha, and I’m very happy with how both of them turned out. Both still need baths, but that’s no biggie.

The one on the left, I got from Northbound Knitting (along with 3 other braids, which I’ll gush about in just a minute :-P) and it’s… Cheriot Combed Top in the “Femme Fatale” colorway. It was about 4oz… and I was able to get probably around 2.5 oz on the bobbin, so I have some left that’ll be a mini skein. Out of the 2.5oz, I got around… 286 yards of like a fingering, I think. Which is pretty sweet :-P

The one on the right… that’s the end of the shipment of fiber I got right after Christmas, haha. It’s from Three Waters Farm. It’s 100% BFL in the “Fall Foliage” colorway. And it was also around 4oz. I got around 375 yds, I think. I’m still a bit wonky in my calculating how much I got, but it’s all a work in progress. And practice makes perfect :-P

So the 3 other braids I got from Northbound Knitting…

Aaaaagghhhfhgha, they’re just so prettyyyy. And soft, too. I can’t wait to spin these up.

So yeah, if you’re in the market for more fiber, I really really recommend these two Etsy stores. Both have amazing service, and the quality of their fiber is just outstanding. And the color of them should speak for themselves… they’re just amazingly brilliant. So. Cool.

2 thoughts on “Spinning Successes

Leave a Reply

