Oatmeal Surprise Recipe ^_^

So this is my new little hang out. (and yes, I do see there’s a little yellow ball on my windowsill. I’m a dancer. My feet need a little massage every once in awhile. Annnd, that’s what I use. Don’t judge, haha :-P)

I completely re-arranged my room on saturday, and just finished… ish… about 10 minutes ago. Bed. Desk. Everything is in a new place.

Which is an extremely big change. Because… my bed and desk had been in the same place since we moved here. Soooo… 5 ish 6 ish years. Something like that (yeah… we’ve lived here *that* long. So crazy. Pshsshshshs…)

I like re-arranging furniture, for some odd reason. Obviously, it’s something new… the room is completely different. It makes me happy.

When I do stuff like that, it feels like it holds new things. New memories. New things to do. New things to create.

*feels stupid because I can somehow make rearranging a room a fail-deep subject…* *cough*

Anyways. Bertie… has finally gotten used to the new layout, haha.

He can still sit on the windowsill. and he can also sit on the back of the chair and still see out. So, I think he’s happy :-P

OH! So, the Oatmeal Surprise Cookies? Haha, thank you guys for all the feedback on those :-P And I will gladly share the recipe!

My mom picked this up for me, which was extremely sweet of her, at the grocery store last week. Cause… it looked awesome.

But this recipe is from The Taste of Home’s Fall Baking 2011, which, I REALLY REALLY recommend getting. Either ordering online, or looking around at like a bookstore or something.

If you love fall treats, sweet stuff, pictures of stuff that will definitely make you drool, and the sudden urge to go and make something *right now*…. this is definitely for you.

Ok, so! Here’s the recipe :-)

(notes: Instead of chocolate-covered raisins, I just used chocolate chips. Then added in cranberries after baking a couple batches. But either would work. Or some other kind of fruit, I bet, would be AMAZING.)

Oatmeal Surprise Cookies
Yields: 3 dozen

1 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
2-3/4 cups quick-cooking oats
1-1/2 cups chocolate-covered raisins (or chocolate chips, cranberries, whatever suits your fancy :-P)

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs. Combine the flour, baking soda, and pumpkin pie spice (and here, I added a couple dashes of cinnamon :-P); gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well. Stir in oats and raisins.

Drop by tablespoonfuls 2inches apart onto greased baking sheets. Flatten slightly. Bake at 350 degrees for 13-15 minutes or until golden brown. Cool for 5 minutes before removing to wire racks. Store in an airtight container.

I’d love to hear if you make some! They’re sooooo yummy. Perfect to go along with a big cup of (*cough* sweetened *cough*) tea. Or hot chocolate. Or apple cider, that’d be good too…

I am so ready for fall. and the old temperatures.

and Bertie is too, I think :-P

One thought on “Oatmeal Surprise Recipe ^_^

Leave a Reply

