Codename: Cyclops

I’m sure there are many many other people who call these things different names. But the title of these in the cookbook I used, they’re called Peanut Butter Blossoms. I dunno, but I kinda prefer Cyclops. But that’s totally just me :-P

Another tradition. We always make these at Christmas time. And I adore them. Like, we’re talking…really really adore them.

Our plan is to make a Christmas dessert every day. Yesterday was the Cyclops. Today is lemon bars (which I did get pictures of, but that post will come tomorrow :-P) It’s making us feel extremely productive. I’m not sure why, but it does, haha.

SO. Somehow that connects with what I’m about to say. But I’m…uncertain as to the whole…connection thing. Hm. Anyways! Let’s just pretend it connects, haha :-P

Here’s the Cyclops/Peanut Butter Blossoms/whatever you want to call them recipe! If you end up adding them to your Christmas cheer, or making them at any time of the year…let me know what you think!

Prep: 25 mins. Bake: 10 mins per batch.
Oven: 350 degrees F. Makes: about 54 cookies

1/2 cup shortening (we use butter instead)
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon of baking soda
1 egg
2 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 and 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup granulated sugar
Milk chocolate kisses or stars.

1: Beat shortening and peanut butter with an electric mixer 30 seconds. Add the 1/2 cup granulated sugar, brown sugar, baking powder, and baking soda. Beat until combined, scraping bowl. Beat in egg, milk, and vanilla. Beat in as much flour as you can. Stir in any remaining flour.

2: Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll balls in the 1/4 cup of granulated sugar. Place 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 10 to 12 mins or until edges are firm and bottoms are lightly browned. Immediately press a chocolate kiss into each cookie’s center. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool.

And there you have it! This recipe is from Better Homes New Cookbook!

On a knitting note:
Sweater is DONE. DONE DONE DONE. HALLELUJAH! And the hat that has to be sent along with the sweater is almost done! I’m hoping to get it done during either a House episode or a Pokemon one :-P Pictures..hopefully before things get sent off :-P

So that leaves….one fair isle hat. and…2 scarves! Holy cow, will I make it? I think…the hat can be sent later. and one of scarves can be held till sometime in January (we’re seeing the recipient then :-P) but the other one….

*is optimistic* I can DO THIS. Hey, there are…4 days left to knit. I think I can. I think I can. :-D

Haha, what is your favorite out of the things you’re making Christmas cookie wise?

2 thoughts on “Codename: Cyclops

Leave a Reply

