Quotable Friday!!

What can I give Him,
Poor as I am?
If I were a shepherd
I would bring a lamb,
If I were a Wise Man,
I would do my part, –
Yet what can I give Him,
Give my heart. ~ Christina Rossetti

I’ve always liked this poem.

(And yes, I do notice that it’s a poem and not really a quote. But hey, it’s really short. It could qualify as a quote :-P)

When I was younger my mom had my little brother and I memorize this around Christmas time, one year. And…for some reason I’ve always remembered it. It’s perfect.

Maybe it’s because there have been several artists that sing songs with this text, and I just remember that. Hmmmm

Haha, anyways, I know that today is the start of many people’s Christmas breaks…which is uberly exciting! Hope your Friday is/was/will be amazing, and your weekend and the coming week will be the same :-)

(P.S. Even though it’s not Monday, here’s one of my favorite versions of “The Gift”, the poem above…done by Sarah McLachlan. There are other lyrics in the song besides the poem, but it’s reallllly good. :-)

One thought on “Quotable Friday!!

Leave a Reply

