Wow, Glinda lost a couple years…?

After watching the Wizard of Oz and listening to Wicked so much recently, I decided that I wanted to read the books.

It’s rather strange, but even though the Wizard of Oz books might be just as old as like, the Lord of the Rings, but they aren’t as popular, or more read.

Or maybe that’s just me.

Maybe you’ve read the Wizard of Oz books, and I’m just completely out of it. Which is most likely the case :-P

So I was reading along and knitting (great happiness that my mom got a copy from the library that’s big :-P) and Glinda came along. And this is how she was described…

“The little woman’s hat was white, and she wore a white gown that hung in plaits from her shoulders; over it sprinkled little stars that glistened in the sun like diamonds.” …. “But the little woman was doubtless much older: her face was covered with wrinkles, her hair nearly white, and she walked rather stiffly.” ~ The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

Sadly, I can’t find a picture of the illustration of Glinda that I have. But…if you’re confused about the dress, it’s pretty much just like a nightgown.

That’s what the author had in mind for Glinda. And apparently…someone morphed her into

I wonder why…?

Also, another thing that’s different. Is that the shoes were SILVER? And not RED? Did anyone know that? Cause I certainly didn’t…

This is a really rough post, but I wanted to post this and I don’t have as much time as I usually do. I’m trying to get all my school work (and more) done before we leave on…SATURDAY.

Hopefully, pictures will be taken of my Monkey socks (which I cast on last night) and that Surprise Project, which I’m actually almost done with. heh heh. I have half of an arm…and another arm. Then I’m ready for blocking and seaming together.

I’m going to try and get it done before Saturday (or at least mostly done, and finish it up in the car) so I can wear it to Branson. I hear it’s supposed to get down in the 30’s while we’re there. Which is SO STINKING COLD! Even for regular non-wimpy-weather people! It’s going to my aaaaaawesome!!!

6 thoughts on “Wow, Glinda lost a couple years…?

  1. Hannah says:

    if you read some of the other Oz books she’s younger in them. they’re great books by the way, and there’s hundreds of them! (ok, so maybe not *hundreds* but there is a lot of them)

  2. Natalya says:

    I did hear that the shoes were silver I just don’t know where…..
    I never imagined Glinda as old(see how the world has been decieved!!!!) *cough* AND I WANT TO KNOW WHAT THE SECREAT PROJECT IS! I can’t stand the the suspense…..:-D

  3. Helga/Q says:

    Yes, there are tons of hidden messages in the original OZ.
    they changed the slippers to Ruby for Technicolor-hollywood magic.

    google OZ themes and myths, you will be shocked with comes up.
    the silver was a political message regarding the silver trade of the times..

Leave a Reply

