School closes in…

While we were gone (we’re home now, just by the way :-) Been so busy un-packing, cleaning, organizing stuff for school, updating friends, knitting, etc. that blogging…has been tricky to fit in…heh heh.)…

Anyway, while we were gone, I began to see “Oh my goodness, I start school tomorrow” posts start to flood my newsfeed. Then they changed to “Oh my goodness, my homework load is soooo bad. I have so much. It’s 10:00 and I haven’t started yet. Gaaaah”

Of course, it wasn’t worded that way, haha. And of course, I’m wondering…”Whyyyy then are you on Facebook?” But that’s not the point.

People started school, in Houston, on the 23rd. While Joey and I were hanging out on the East coast doing awesome things. We were extremely joyful.

Now, it is our turn, and we start school on Monday. Along with 2 out of 3 of our online classes, Great Books 3 (Great Books 2, for Joey) and Greek 1. I dunno about Joey, but I’m soooo excited.

One thing that I am sad about, is that I don’t have a Music History class this year…:-( It did the impossible, and passed Great Books on the “The most AWESOME class of ALL TIME” of the year list. Great Books people will understand :-P It’s pretty tough to do that.

Needless to say, our school room was full of new notebooks, folders, 3-ring binders, pencils, dividers, you name it. That was all sorted out, and put away.

Now, some of my school stuff has migrated into my room, to be put away. So now on top of my post-trip clutter memorabilia, school books have been added.

Oh well, it makes my room feel….happy. I’m surrounded by yarn, books, pictures of friends, more yarn, welcoming blankets, my awesome chair, school stuff, and more yarn…what more could I want?

And this? It’s the first page of half of the full orchestral score for the Nutcracker. And where did I lay my hands on this, you ask? At this run-down, hole-in-the-wall, stuffed-to-the-brim (I feel like Christopher Paolini, haaaahaa.) bookstore in Washington D.C. For like 8$.

I also got this sheet music, that’s ready to disintegrate, of some of Schumann’s music. BUT, it was published in like 1830, or something.

Maybe not then, BUT, when he wrote the actual music and when this copy was published, there was only like a 10 year gap. For only *3 dollars*. When the guy was like “Yeaaah, sure. 3$. It’s so old, and ratty. Looks like 3$”, I was like ‘OH MY goodness. Seriously??” And yeah.

Ooook, where was I going with this? I forget. Heh heh.

Oh, I remember. the music? It reminds me of..the Nutcracker, obviously….which reminds me of Christmas! And the (cooler, hopefully) weather of Houston…and how much I’m looking forward to it. I LOVE the Nutcracker. and Christmas. and cold weather.

The end :-)

Leave a Reply

