Spring is here!

At last! Houston’s winter was long and hard. But I was totally ok with that because there was always a perfect opportunity to wear a knitted object :-P

Of course, with Spring here, it means waking up in the morning with a stopped up nose and itchy eyes. Stinking allergies. Everything is covered in a light dusting (though some places, it’s a lot heavier, lol.) of pollen. Bright yellow pollen. Joy. It’s fun going someplace…with a clean car. Then coming back it’s covered in pollen. Epicness, that.
I had a wonderful Easter weekend, my sister came home for the weekend, I ate at amazing places with family, I became a fan of yoga (Lululemon FTW!!) (I absolutely love their…moto thing…”Dance, sing, floss, and travel”. Yep. I also love parenthesis, lol.) ate amazing Crave Cupcakes, watched movies, knit a lot, ate a lot of chocolate (lol), and the most important thing was celebrating Christ rising from the dead. Yeah, my Easter weekend was pretty much stinking awesome.
After a brilliant find on Ravelry, I am now competing…er not really *competing* but more like participating in the NaKnitMo 2010 – One Million Stitches! I’m really excited, I didn’t really consider that counting stitches was…really possible, unless you had a ton of time…and just wanted to find out. But I was wrong! Since I’m starting late, I took all the projects I had knit since January, looked at the patterns, and used those numbers to calculate my number.
Which is….
230,187! Booyah.
Most of this consists of this blanket I had going on the side for forever (but just recently finished it, thanks to the Olympics :-P), and my Drape Front Cardigan. I knew both had a lot of stitches, but not as many as came up :-)
Anyway :-)
Here’s a timeline just for interest, and my future reference, lol.
4 – 7 – 10 ~ 208,315
4 – 8 – 10 ~ 209, 915
4 – 11 – 10 ~ 230, 187
I’m thinking, that if I end up reaching the goal before the year is up….I’ll up it or something. Dunno how much, but it’ll be something.

SoftLinenSkirtLg_2.jpg

This is what I’ll be knitting next! After the DFC (drape front cardigan) is done. I’m uber excited, never done a skirt before. I absolutely ADORE this pattern. The Shetland Trader, a knitting blog I like to read, this lady designed it. I saw it on her blog, and was like “AAAAH” sadly, the pattern was in a book (which I now have), and couldn’t get it anywhere. Thankfully the situation has changed, and life is awesome :-)
Pattern: Soft Linen Single Gore (SLSG, SingGore, whatever. Huh, I kinda like SingGore…)
Size: Small (27 1/2″)
Yarn: Rowan Cotton Glace (shade: 746 “Nightshade”)
Needle: U.S. 6 (4.o mm)
How much: 10 balls (1250.0 yards)
Haven’t cast it on yet, cause I want to get my DFC done. Only got 14 more days to get it done before the month is up! Hope I can get it done :-)
So you guys have a good week, may your stash be everlasting, and may you never run out of stitch markers. :-)
Love,
Grace }|{

3 thoughts on “Spring is here!

  1. Kaley Grace says:

    Your Easter sounded simply amazing. And those cupcakes make me really really hungry. Mmmm!O.OO.O O.O O.O O.O O.OTHAT is a LOT of STICHES.GO YOOOOU!! (I think you should go for the world record, or something. You would so win!)

Leave a Reply

