The old beats the mini and new

I was just bitten with the bug of finishitis, haha. Like, I really really want to get a lot of stuff done. Which I have been doing! I got a hat done, for a friend, in two days.

Pattern: Meret by Woolly Wormhead.
Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted (in Polar Morn, the same color I used for the mermaid hat :-P)
Needles: US7 circulars and US6 DPNs
Mods: I added the extra repeat of the lace pattern, to give it more slouch.
Project page on Ravelry (account required! Thowwie thowwie :-P)

2 days, uber uber easy. If you’re looking for a lacy amazing hat, this is the perfect hat. End of story.

So because that cowl was done, this hat was done.. I thought it was ok for me to cast on something small and quick for me (which, it’s ending up to be more complicated than I thought, but that’s ok :-P)

And so I cast on Kentmere by Lily Kate of Joli House

Needles: US8
Yarn: Tahki Yarns Tara Tweed (colors are 016 and 002)

I got two balls of each color, but I’m thinking that I’m going to need more grey, if I want to continue doing the random stripe thing, which I really love the look of.

My other choice, was to get halfway, then do the rest of it completely red. Because I’m using up the red way more slowly than the grey.

I’d love anyones’ opinions, haha. I’m a bit torn :-P

Then along with that… I pulled out my Spectra by Stephen West of Westknits. Which I don’t think I’ve talked about before, heh heh. I have 47 wedges out of like… 84 or something. So I have awhile to go, but thankfully, it goes really really fast :-P

I actually got this yarn in London, which makes this amazing scarf thing even more epic and… joyous, haha.

Personally, I think that Stephen West is one of the most brilliant knitting designers out there. Everything he does is just so extremely gorgeous and complicated in a simplistic way that it’s like “O.O”

I want to get it done soon, because I want to wear it. So so so bad. Cause… I know there’s a chance of me getting to wear it in the future, and like actually need it. Not to say that Houston hasn’t been having cold weather over the past couple of days, but the cold doesn’t last for long here :-P

out of the three projects, Spectra is definitely my favorite. OH MY GOODNESS, I love it.

2 thoughts on “The old beats the mini and new

Leave a Reply

